Unexpected Blessings

The last three years of my life have been…well, less than ideal.  At one time I had a certain anticipation of what I would be doing, where I would end up, what my life would look like.  Since graduating college, those visions were obliterated and now, three years later, my prospects of achieving those dreams are no closer to reality.

Today a number of decisions and trials caused me to reflect upon my station in life and all that has transpired.  While I never would have asked to be where I am today, I can still be thankful for where God has brought me.  Here’s a quick snapshot of some unexpected blessings:

MCC_Cook Auditorium

Past Wish: Attending traditional, perhaps even liturgical church
Present Reality: Attending modern, multimedia heavy church


Unexpected Blessings:

  • Participating in a church where attitude of love, unity is highest priority and lived out to fullest extent
  • Opportunities to get involved with or support countless ministries, missions
  • Ability to observe church growth strategies
  • Healthy social outlet built among many other young adults where I may not otherwise have found such treasured friendships

Teacher ClassroomPast Wish: Career in ministry, youth pastor or discipleship pastor
Present Reality: Career in education, school teacher


Unexpected Blessings:

  • Work in a Christian environment has expanded my knowledge of scripture and strengthened my faith
  • Teaching enables me to present Biblical truths on a daily basis while pouring into the lives of many students – same as youth ministry but with a more consistent schedule
  • Perhaps feeling more appreciated than in any other job/work environment

Monopoly ManPast Wish: Modest but comfortable income to establish independent lifestyle
Present Reality: 
Low income to require dependence on others and forced fiscal responsibility



Unexpected Blessings:

  • Multi-dimensional perspective to see, understand, even experience obstacles affecting those in poverty/impoverished communities
  • Necessity to balance and prioritize living expenses, professional development
  • Greater trust in God’s continued provision, whether in plenty or in want

Home OwnershipPast Wish: Home ownership
Present Reality: Living at home with parents



Unexpected Blessings:

  • Increased appreciation and love for family
  • Support in all the typical household tasks which I have been unable/set as a low priority
  • Ability to save, become better prepared for future independence

Fingers IntertwinedPast Wish: Steady relationship and/or marriage (with kids?)
Present Reality: Prolonged singleness


Unexpected Blessings: 

  • Appreciation for gift of singleness (unhindered focus on loving people/loving Christ, flexibility in schedule/commitments)
  • New eyes to sympathize with, understand emotions or trials of others who are single
  • Ability to learn about love and relationships, avoid some of the pain in sin and heartbreak by observing these through others
  • Numerous experiences to filter through good and bad counsel, to compare worldly models of dating with Biblical standards

So as not to misunderstand me, many of these desires are still very real and present.  Whether they are to be achieved soon or never, I put this list into writing to say I have a lot to be thankful for!  How could I imagine trading this life that God has blessed me with for a mere fantasy that I would have created on my own?  Granted, I am not where I want to be, not even who I want to be, yet God has placed me in a position where He could mold me into someone better than I was before.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Claudia Gerwin
    Jul 19, 2013 @ 17:34:27

    Benjamin: I am constantly blessed by the insights shared by my daughter’s friends. Thank you for your transparency. I’ve learned much in reading this, and am rejoicing again at the way God has led me – and you!

    Reply

  2. thebridgechicago
    Jul 20, 2013 @ 14:47:14

    Great honesty in this post. Way to let God know how where you are at!
    -Pete from The Bridge

    Reply

  3. Larry Stevens
    Jul 22, 2013 @ 08:26:25

    Well thought out. The only thing you can say is Praise the Lord!
    Larry

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Scoop

